I can’t wait to vote

I can’t wait to vote for the first Black President,
to tell my grandchildren that I helped usher in a new direction for America.

I can’t wait to vote for the first Black President,
to feel the rush of fresh air, the charged ions of new ideas.

I can’t wait to vote for the first Black President,
to hopefully move from hate to understanding.

I can’t wait to vote for the first Black President,
and to never hear from Sarah Palin again.

I can’t wait to vote for the first Black President,
to show the supposed “Real Americans” that more people disagree with them than agree.

I can’t wait to vote for the first Black President,
to try and heal the wounds created by W.

I can’t wait to vote for the first Black President,
to show the rest of the world that we’ve move beyond the 1860s.

I can’t wait to vote for the first Black President,
to show the world that we have our heads on straight.

I can’t wait to vote for the first Black President,
to show the world that we care about things other than reality shows.

I can’t wait to vote for the first Black President,
to show the world the we give a fuck again.

I can’t wait to vote for the first Black President,
to show that we can rise above the dreck of the lowest common denominator.

I can’t wait to vote for the first Black President,
so “That One” can show “Those People” that their hatred is misguided, ill-informed and embarrassing to the rest of America.

2 responses to “I can’t wait to vote

  1. amen. nicely worded.

  2. PHENOMENAL! “I CAN’T WAIT TO VOTE FOR THE FIRST BLACK PRESIDENT”

Leave a Reply

