The Kindle

Can someone explain to me why a majority of the Internet Nerds think that the Kindle is the second coming of print.

Why, whenever a new e-reader comes out, does everyone announce, once again, that print is dead?

Maybe I’m just too attached to my books. Most bibliophiles display their books like works of art. In fact, if a book is designed well, if the cover is attractive, then a book is a work of art (see Chip Kidd). The small notes left by the reader; the underlining, the notation, the editorializing, they all add value, be it sentimentally, to the book. You can’t do that to an ebook. Not that you wouldn’t want to, you could add hyperlinks, add a comment section like a blog, but with the DRM on the Kindle, the publishers would rather throw you in jail than give you the chance to voice your opinion on the book.

Plus, once you let me know that you can SHARE an ebook, which the Kindle won’t let you do unless you give your Kindle to someone else, thus rendering you bookless, then maybe I’ll change my opinion.

Until then I’ll continue to let my friends borrow one of my books without thinking twice about antiquated and information stifling ebook DRM.

The future is print. The future is paper. Quit trying to find a solution to a problem that doesn’t exist.

Leave a Reply

