Wifi in my neighborhood

I went war driving (or should I say war walking) in my backyard today. Amazingly, I can keep my wireless network all the way to the back of the yard, around the corner and behind the garage. It’s also fun to find all of the other networks flowing through my backyard. Some I can see from the house, others I found by walking to the back fence.

The Johnson’s have a wireless network (or that is what their network is named).
Linksys (the most popular network name) has a route through my backyard.
There are a couple of others that are alphanumeric.

I look around my neighborhood, typical blue-collar middle class, to lower middle class, and am amazed at the number of open networks.

War drive/walk you neighborhood, or just your yard. It’s more fun than you think.

Leave a Reply

