Jott.com is funny

I’ve been using Jott for the past couple of months. It’s a great service that allows you to leave messages to yourself. True, you can do this with your own voicemail system but Jott does something different. After you sign up for Jott they give you an 800 number to call. When you call and leave a message for yourself (or someone else) Jott will transcribe the message and email a copy to you.

I was on my way to work today and the morning show I listen to was talking about a letter to Dr. Laura Schlessinger about homosexuality. I knew about the letter and always thought it was an urban myth. I called Jott to remind myself to “Look up Dr. Laura letter on Snopes.com.”

Here is what Jott sent to me: “Wake up the law of [speech unclear, please listen] letter on smoke.com”

Most of the time Jott works great, not this time.

One response to “Jott.com is funny

  1. I heard that the more you use Jott, the better the transcriptions are. However, you figure with human transcribers (along with voice recognition software) the transcriptions should be perfect! But if you think about it, if you don’t speak clearly to someone right next to you, they would probably have the same problem as the transcribers. So….i guess we all just have to speak clearly! haha I haven’t had too much of a problem.

Leave a Reply

