It’s still happening.

Is this the Malcolm Gladwell syndrome? Did it all start with his “The Tipping Point” book?

I’m talking about my previous post on book jacket design and non-fiction books (usually those non-fiction books whose subject is an idea, a way of thinking or a new way of doing something) and how a lot of them look the same.

I’ve found three more examples of this and I’m still surprised at the fact that the centered title, small graphic art object, centered subtitle and center author name is still being used. The more I see it the more I wish for Chip Kidd and his covers.

Here are the examples I recently found:

It just seems like lazy design. If the author puts so much time researching and writing his book, shouldn’t the publishing house choose a better design than one that could easily be done in Microsoft Word?

Leave a Reply

